1949 California Community High School Football Team
Pictured above are members of the 1949 Championship Team:

John Mariscotti, John Kanitra, Edward Otto, Clifford Copenhaver, Allen Conaway,
Albert Metzner, John Masneri, Richard Niccolai, David Zahars, Donald McCrory, Eddie Slosky,

Joe Lundy, John Luko, William Laschen, John Konek, Edward Mician, Angelo Encapera, Pete Petroff, Stanley Rice, Oscar Tentler, Thomas Parkinson, Bernard Sosnak, George Luko, Sam Bell,

George Miller, Richard Sabo, Andrew Timko, Thomas Selep, James Starkey, Jesse Clink, James Britton, William Leeper and William McDonald.

1948-49 California Community High Football Team, defeated Dormont High School 38-6 before 4500 fans at Washington High Stadium to become the 1949 WPIAL Class A Champions. In only their second year of existence, California Community High School was undefeated in football with an 18-1-0 record. (Tied Clark High School, the eventual Co-WPIAL Champion with Trinity High School).

The 1949 California team scored 306 points for a 30. 6 points average per game and yielded only 61 points, for a 6.1 points average per game and recorded 4 shutouts. John Konek was named to the 3rd Annual All-American High School Team. He was the only Pennsylvania player named to the first team.

Category: Tags: ,